Ampelmann Award

In 2017 we presented the AMPELMANN Award for outstanding commitment for the first time.

IT’S FINALLY DONE!

IT’S FINALLY DONE!

Craig Mitchell is the first prize-winner of the newly created AMPELMANN Award. The U.S Judge is the founder of a running club that meets at least three times a week and that helps homeless, drug addicts and unemployed people from one of the poorest areas in L.A to find a way back to life through sports.

The live streaming of the award ceremony can be found on the AMPELMANN Facebook page.

Live stream on Facebook

Markus Heckhausen und Craig Mitchell

“RUNNING THROUGH IT?”

The Award is granted to Mitchell due to his outstanding commitment and initiative, which are both role models and mirrors to us. After the fall of the Berlin wall, the traffic light men had to fight their way through the city streets because they had to disappear from the cityscape; today, AMPELMANN is a Berlin cult brand well known beyond the city limits. This built path required great perseverance and commitment, and this is why we will always stand besides this kind of initiatives.

SKID ROW RUNNING CLUB Documentary

SKID ROW RUNNING CLUB Documentary

“Skid Row Marathon” is the name of the documentary about the Skid Row Running Club -founded by Craig Mitchell, which will leave you completely speechless.
One day before the Berlin Marathon, the documentary was shown for the first time in Germany by the filmmakers Gabi and Mark Hayes. The film has already won several film awards in the USA and will hopefully soon be shown in German cinemas.

Newsletter

Something is always going on in Berlin – this city truly never sleeps. With the AMPELMANN Newsletter you stay up to date about what is going on in Berlin. Plus, you receive insights about our city and our newest products. Let’s keep in touch.

Ampelmann Award

In diesem Jahr haben wir erstmalig den AMPELMANN AWARD für herausragendes Engagement verliehen.

Endlich ist es soweit

Endlich ist es soweit

Craig Mitchell ist der erste Preisträger des neu ins Leben gerufenen AMPELMANN Awards. Der US-amerikanische Richter joggt dreimal wöchentlich gemeinsam mit Obdachlosen, Drogenab­hängigen und Arbeitslosen, die aus einem der ärmsten Viertel in L.A. stammen. Ein oftmals harter Kampf – der gemeinsame Lauf – zurück in ein geregeltes Leben.

Das Live Streaming der Award-Verleihung  findet ihr auf der AMPELMANN Facebook Seite.

Video Award Verleihung

"Laufend" durchkämpfen

Mitchells Initiative und sein her­ausragendes Engagement sind für uns Vorbild und Spiegel zugleich: Von Beginn an musste sich auch das Ampelmännchen durchkämpfen, als es kurz nach dem Berliner Mauerfall vollständig aus dem Stadtbild verschwinden sollte. Heute ist AMPELMANN die Berliner Kultmarke und weit über die Stadtgrenzen hinaus bekannt und beliebt – ein Weg, der „laufend“ umkämpft war und großes Durchhaltevermögen erforderte. Für uns ein Grund, zukünftig als Inspiration für Initiativen und Gesellschaft zu stehen.

Markus Heckhausen und Craig Mitchell
Die Dokumentation zum
"Skid Row Running Club"

Die Dokumentation zum "Skid Row Running Club"

SKID ROW MARATHON heißt die Dokumentation über den von Craig Mitchell initiierten Laufclub „Skid Row Running Club“, die kein Auge trocken lässt.
Einen Tag vor dem Berlin Marathon wurde die Dokumentation von den Filmemachern Gabi und Mark Hayes erstmalig in Deutschland gezeigt. Der Film hat bereits in den USA mehrere Filmpreise gewonnen und wird hoffentlich bald in den deutschen Kinos zu sehen sein.

Newsletter

In Berlin ist immer etwas los. Mit dem AMPELMANN Newsletter bekommst du bequem Berlin-Tipps ins Haus, plus Informationen zu unseren Produktneuheiten.